Under VTL 319 New York requires all drivers to have auto insurance. New York is a “25/50/10” state; this means that drivers are required to have coverage up to $25,000 per person and $50,000 per incident in bodily injury liability, as well as $10,000 in property damage liability. Driving without insurance in NY is against the law and if caught driving without insurance you could get ticketed and charged.
Individuals who are convicted of driving without car insurance in New York can get:
- Fines: Courts and the State can impose fines and surcharges on drivers who own a car or are caught driving without auto insurance; the court fines on a conviction of No Insurance can range from $150 to $1500. The amount depends on the court’s discretion and whether the driver has been previously convicted of driving without auto insurance.
- Suspensions: Convicted persons driving without insurance in New York can face a one year revocation of their New York driver’s license.
- Higher Auto Insurance Premiums: Individuals who are convicted for driving without automobile insurance coverage can be forced to pay higher auto insurance premiums.
- Civil Penalties: Uninsured drivers in New York can be held personally accountable for any damages or injuries which result from a car accident. The cost of fixing a car can run into thousands of dollars and the cost of personal injuries occurring from an auto accident can be tremendous. The civil court system can require drivers with no car insurance to pay these damages.