Junior License Traffic Tickets in New York State

by Adam Rosenblum

When you first become of age and get the ability to drive, you feel like you are on cloud nine. However, many young drivers are entirely unaware of the seriousness of violating traffic laws while having a junior learner’s permit or junior license. Moreover, most junior drivers only have a vague understanding of what restrictions they have on driving.

The following information will help you better understand those restrictions and the penalties for committing driving offenses as a junior driver.

What Restrictions Do I Have as a Junior Driver?

For instance, in most areas of New York State, you:

  • Will not be allowed to drive without a supervising driver between the hours of 9:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. (unless traveling to work or class). In order to drive between 9:00PM and 5:00AM, you must have either your parent, legal guardian, or a driving school instructor sitting in the front, passenger seat with you.
  • Will not be allowed to drive more than 1 person under 21 (unless he or she is in your immediate family or your supervising driver is your parent or guardian)
  • Will not be allowed to drive unless your supervising driver is the only passenger allowed in the front seat
  • Will not be allowed to drive unless every person in the vehicle is wearing a seat belt or federally-approved child safety seats

As a junior driver with a learner’s permit, you may not drive at any time in any of the following places:

  • Any street within a park in New York City
  • Any bridge or tunnel under the jurisdiction of the Triborough Bridge and Tunnel Authority
  • The Cross County, Hutchinson River, Saw Mill River, or Taconic State parkways in Westchester County
  • Any a DMV road test area

 

Junior Driver Penalties

If you commit a serious traffic violation or 2 other violations that were committed while you held a junior permit or license, your junior permit, license, or driving privileges will be suspended for 60 days.

Furthermore, your junior permit, license, or driving privileges will be revoked for 60 days if you are convicted of 1 serious traffic violation or 2 other violations within the first 6 monthsafter your permit, license, or privileges are restored after a suspension or revocation.

Remember, a “serious traffic violation” is one that carries 3 or more points.

…But I Just Got My License!

We know; it might feel like the rug was literally pulled out from under you. However, even though you might think it is utterly unfair for the law to take your license away this early in the game simply for one major or two minor offenses, the law is very harsh on young drivers.

Studies have shown that young drivers have a tendency to be more reckless and have more difficulty seeing the consequences of their actions than adult drivers. As such, the driving laws in New York are extra-stringent on drivers who hold junior licenses.